MEMBER OF THE MONTH OF JULY- JOSEPH LAWTON

How did you get involved in CrossFit?- Rachel and I had been involved in cross training for several years and we hit a plateau and needed something new and more challenging. I have several friends and family members that spoke highly of CrossFit and we wanted the challenge of the workouts and to join a healthy community.

What was your first WOD/experience? - Pain and exhaustion; I loved it!

When did you start coming to CrossFit Kilter/ how long have you been CrossFitting for? - Jan. 2017.

When did you realize that CrossFit was right for you? - From the moment we walked into Kilter. Everyone was welcoming and knowledgeable and we fit right in. The coaches were and still are easy to get to know and have our best interest at heart.

What are you short-term and long-term CrossFit goals? Short-term: To really dial in my technique and become proficient and safe in all my movements. Long-term: I would like to do all WOD's RX and not have to scale.

What is your biggest accomplishment? - There have been many recently. I am now at a phase in my development that I am starting to PR and increase my level of strength and endurance.

What is your favorite / least favorite WOD/movement? Favorite Movements: Power cleans Least Favorite Movement: Squats

What do you do for a profession outside of CrossFit? - I work for Vitamix, a high performance blender and industry leader. I work as an assistant regional manager in the Midwest that hires, trains, and oversees a group of sales reps that travel to various locations and venues and do live product demonstrations.

What are your hobbies outside of CrossFit? - Outdoors; biking, hiking, dog park, swimming. - Family and friends are very important to me.

What do you do for nutrition? Do you eat Paleo or Zone? What is your favorite paleo/non-paleo meal? - Clean eating and homemade meals. I rarely eat fast food and try to limit myself to only eating out once a week. - My wife and I pick nutritious meals and food prep to stay on track.

Fun fact about you? - I was a Division 1 swimmer in NY. - I am a huge University of Kansas fan. - I've had to cancel 7 birthday parties due to accidents.